Bishops & Archdeacons

Bishop of Bath & Wells, Peter Hancock

The Rt Revd Peter Hancock was formally installed as Bishop of Bath and Wells at Wells Cathedral on 7th June 2014. He lives at the Bishop’s Palace and works there alongside the Bishop of Taunton.

Bishop of Taunton

Following the retirement of Right Reverend Peter Maurice in April, a new Bishop of Taunton will be announced in the next couple of months. They will have responsibility for the Ministry Forum, and the School of Formation in addition to their pastoral, mission and other ministry roles.

Our Bishops and their office staff are based in the Bishop’s Palace, Wells.


The Bishops are assisted in their work by three Archdeacons based in Bath, Wells and Taunton. Together with other senior colleagues who collectively meet as the Bishops Staff, they are responsible for the life of the church in the diocese, and for the development of our Changing Lives vision.

Each of our three Archdeacons is responsible for a particular geographical areas of the Diocese, known as their Archdeaconry.

  • The Venerable Andy Piggott, Archdeacon of Bath
  • The Venerable Nicola Sullivan, Archdeacon of Wells
  • The Venerable John Reed, Archdeacon of Taunton

They have day-to-day oversight of practical church life, as well as pastoral care for the clergy, and they play an important role in appointing clergy to parish posts. In addition, the Archdeacons share in the central services of the diocese by active involvement in various specific areas such as chairing committees and working groups.

Share this
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone

Who to contact

  • Rt Revd Peter Hancock

    Bishop of Bath & Wells

    Tel: 01749 672341

  • The Ven Andy Piggott

    Archdeacon of Bath

    Tel: 01225 873609

  • The Ven Nicola Sullivan

    Archdeacon of Wells

    Tel: 01749 685147

  • The Ven John Reed

    Archdeacon of Taunton

    Tel: 01823413315

Back to top