Diocesan Synod

Diocesan Synod can be thought of as the ‘parliament’ of the diocese.

Diocesan Synod considers matters referred from General Synod, Deanery Synods, PCCs and from individual Synod members. It formulates diocesan policy on a wide range of issues, assists the Bishops and their staff to support and oversee the work of the diocese, approves the budget, and debates important local and national issues affecting the Church.

Synod has over 200 members, 160 of whom are elected from across the diocese. Meetings are held three times a year. This helps to provide a system of democratic representation and accountability. Download the diocesan calendar to see other key meetings.

Synod is comprised of three houses – bishops, clergy, and laity – who meet together although on some issues they vote separately.

A new Synod was elected in July 2018.

Last session

7 March 2020, 9:30 am (St Paul’s Church, Weston-super-Mare)

Next session

8 July 2020, 6:30pm (Flourish House, Wells)


Who to contact

Back to top