Elections to Deanery Synods for 2020-2023

Annual Parochial Church Meetings in 2020 will elect lay representatives to their respective deanery synods.

A letter has been sent to all PCC Secretaries, along with notices setting out the numbers to be elected by each parish. These can be downloaded below.

Immediately after the APCMs, and no later than the deadline of 5 June 2020, each deanery secretary should be informed of the persons elected, using the certificate of election.

Newly elected members will hold office for three years beginning on 1st July 2020.

Lay members elected to the Deanery Synod will become the register of electors for the elections to the House of Laity of the General Synod to be held later this year.

Members of the House of Clergy of a deanery synod are every clerk in holy orders who is beneficed in or licensed to a parish in the deanery, and certain other categories set out in Clergy Representation Rule 15.

Who to contact

Back to top