Bishop's Council

The Bishop’s Council is the standing committee of Diocesan Synod, with the following remit:

  • To plan the business of the Diocesan Synod
  • To initiate proposals for action by the Diocesan Synod and to advise it on matters of policy
  • To advise the Bishop on any matters which he may refer to it
  • Subject to the directions of the Diocesan Synod, to transact the business of the Synod when it is not in session
  • To establish such committees of the Bishop’s Council and their terms of reference as it considers fit, and to appoint members to committees or other bodies
  • To carry out such other functions as the Diocesan Synod may delegate to it


  • Bishop of Bath & Wells - position currently vacant. Find out how you can get involved as we seek to appoint a new bishop.
  • The Rt Revd R Worsley (Bishop of Taunton)
  • The Very Revd Dr J Davies (Dean of Wells)
  • The Revd Preb J Haslam (Chair of the House of Clergy)
  • Dr C Mason (Chair of the House of Laity)
  • The Ven Dr A Youings (Archdeacon of Bath)
  • The Ven S Hill (Archdeacon of Taunton)
  • The Ven Dr A Gell (Archdeacon of Wells)
  • Mrs T Khodabandehloo
  • Mrs M Lee
  • Dr A Palmer
  • The Revd C Shaw Notice
  • Mr I Theodoreson

Elected Members

  • The Revd M A C Andrews
  • Mrs S G Bult
  • Mr R Dean
  • The Revd R J Driver
  • Mr P C Edge
  • The Revd A E Fulton
  • Mr S Grimshaw
  • Mr T C Hind
  • The Revd D M Keen
  • Fr J B V Laurence
  • Mr J S Loring
  • Dr E I Marshall
  • The Revd R J Miles
  • Dr R M Sage

Dates of meetings (2022)

  • 15 February
  • 27 April
  • 14 June
  • 28 September
  • 10 November

Who to contact

Peter Evans, Assistant Diocesan Secretary


2022 Diocesan Calendar

2023 Diocesan Calendar of Meetings